Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For psychologists and social scientists, the influence of celebrities is always a fascinating topic. Personally, I strongly disagree with the opinion that celebrities influence the younger generation more than the elderly. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the older generation tend to believe the opinions of celebrities. This is probably because the older society is more hierarchy-based than today. Obedience is the most important part of a hierarchy-based structure. Therefore, the elderly are easily affected by well-known people, especially celebrities on TV. An experience of my grandparents is a compelling example of this. They have been following a political TV program called “Gondola's Show” for many years. The host of the show is called Celest Chen, who always provides biased opinions and misleading facts. Her opinions will definitely not be accepted by the younger generation. However, her words are always valued by my grandparents. The situation gets worse when it comes to voting because the older generation are easily influenced by the opinions of these celebrities. Thus, they always chose to trust celebrities rather than making decisions by themselves.

Secondly, younger people are often better educated since most of them received higher education. As a result, they are more likely to make wiser judgment based on their profound knowledge. For example, female celebrities like to recommend cosmetics they prefer. Although their recommendation looks convincing, I would not blindly take these suggestions. It is obvious that younger people are less affected by celebrities. In contrast, older people in my family are easily influenced by the advertisement made by celebrities. They enjoy watching advertisements on TV and bought a lot of unnecessary products such as cosmetics or medical products. These products look amazing from the surface; however, most of them are vulnerable and flawed. These interesting phenomena show that celebrities influence the elderly more than the young.

Last but not least, as an old Taiwanese saying goes, old dogs refuse to learn new knowledge, which means older people are stubborn and are unwilling to change. Usually, older people have limited computer skills and virtually have no access to the internet. Lack of dedicated online searching tools makes them unable to gather information or resources from a different perspective. Hence, they choose to trust celebrities no matter what the truth is.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that celebrities influence the older generation more than the young. This is because the elderly like to trust the opinions of celebrities and because they are not as well educated as younger people.