should art and music be compulsory subjects?

Many researchers have proved the benefits of having art or music lessons. Personally, I strongly believe learning art or music is beneficial. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will further explore in the following essay.

First of all, recent research conducted by one of the most famous research centers suggests that music stimulates the brain associated with academic performance. According to the research, students who have taken music lessons performed 15% better than those who have never taken music lessons. My cousin, Jason’s experience is a compelling example of this. When he was young, his parents insisted on taking music lessons. While in elementary schools, he outshines most of his classmates. He always ranked first in his school until high school years. He is currently accepted to the best university in my country and everyone admires his achievement. In my opinion, if it had not been for the music training he went through in his childhood, he wouldn’t have had this outstanding performance.

Secondly, learning music can enhance social skills. Since music is an art that should be performed with a group of people, students can learn teamwork and how to relate to others. Recent studies suggest that more and more companies require employees with strong social skills such as communicating and interacting with colleagues and client. For instance, many of my co-workers took music classes in elementary or high schools; they can easily apply the communication skills learned while playing musical instruments. For the past few years, I had a really hard time keeping up with most of my colleagues because I am an introverted person and I was not as eloquent as they were. In contrast, my colleges are able to apply all of the communicating techniques naturally, especially when negotiating with our customers. Usually, the whole process goes on smoothly and our customers are very satisfied with our products and services. This example demonstrates that music does play an important part in enhancing social skills.

Finally, music increases productivity and creativity. A recent research published by National Art and Music Research Center shows that art and music offer the basic elements we need for creativity. With the creativity developed by learning music and art, we can make create more innovative ideas and hence increase our productivity.

In conclusion, I believe that taking art or music classes are valuable. This is because art and music help students to achieve academic success and because they help young individuals to improve their communication skills tremendously.