Nowadays, children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smart phone, video games, for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for the children's development.

With the advancement of modern technology, there has been substantial progress in inventing new electronic products. It is no doubt that more and more devices and computer programs are designed to help children learn more effectively. However, I believe that playing simpler toys and playing with friends are more advantageous for children development.

The development of children links to the performance of a child, especially in academic field. Nowadays, there are massive amounts of computer programs to assist students to learn more efficiently. These materials are brilliant resources to impart knowledge in a simple and effective way. However, ongoing research suggests that too much computer aid educational materials may harm children since it results in passive learning and lack of brainstorming skills. For example, during an online teaching program, a student just sits there and listen to the lecturer without any interaction let alone critical thinking, which is rather harmful to students because they don’t actually learn through thinking. In contrast, simpler toys such as LEGO help young individuals develop creativity. For example, when assembling the blocks together, children gradually learn basic knowledge of mathematics and science.

In addition to academic performance, strong physical and social ability also shapes the characteristic of a child. People are more and more sedentary today, as a result of this, obesity and other health-related issues emerged. Therefore, playing outside with friends can build up stronger body for children and prevent them from being obese. Recent research suggest that physical activities also stimulate children’s brain and help them to become more successful in the future. Furthermore, while playing with friends, children may develop social and communication skills such as: negotiating and avoiding conflicts. For example, children can learn how to share toys with each other and how to get along well with their partners. The experience leaned when playing with friend are indeed skills needed for the future.

Crime and violence are frequently depicted on television or the Internet and may have negative effects on children. Children who see violent acts are more likely to display aggressive or violent behavior and also to believe the world is a scary place. Ongoing studies have shown a lasting correlation between watching violence online and aggression. For example, video games such as Pikachu contains too many fight scenes, which is definitely a negative role model for children. As a result, immature players sometimes imitate violent and risky behaviors they see on television and end up in injuries, or even committing crimes.

In sum, I strongly believe that playing simpler toys and playing with friends are more beneficial to the children. They help students to have better academic performance, build up stronger bodies, and stay away from violence.