Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A teacher is the one who shares the legacy of knowledge with their students. This makes it more crucial for a teacher to have proficient skills to do that. These skills may need modifications according to the students need and thus to improve the quality of teaching and learning , the schools should ask the students to evaluate their teachers. I feel this way due to the following reasons.

To begin with, students are the best ones to evaluate their tutors. If an external evaluator is appointed to assess the teacher, it would be a single class assessment. It is not fair to decide on a single class about how effective the teaching is. What about the previous and the following classes? In such circumstances, the opinion of the students is of paramount importance. While I was studying in High school, every year we were asked to fill a feedback form for every teacher’s teaching at the end of each semester. It would assess their teaching strategy, how effective it was for the student's comprehension, the conduct of teacher in the class, tutor’s punctuality, passion, preparation for the class. This objective assessment by the students would help the institute to work on the quality of education extended to the kids and focus on the tutor’s training.

Moreover, feedback by the students will appreciate their diligence and dedication towards their work and encourage the professors to give their best while teaching. As a result, the students will have better and vivid understanding of the subject and enhanced exam outcomes. My post-graduation guide, Dr.Seemi is a very good example of this. She joined as an academic professor in our institute in the same year when I enrolled for my PG program. Her teaching was good but the subject she taught was boring and dry for the students. After getting the feedback from the students, about their difficulties with the subject, she developed improved teaching strategies from the next semester. she came up with simple explanations, fun analogy which was easy to recall. The lectures filled with discussions and quizzes made the class more interesting. By the time I was a sophomore, she became the favourite professor of all the students and won best teacher award consecutively for 3 years. Her passion for the subject nudged us to study that subject more closely and our grades improved significantly.

In conclusion, schools should allow the students to evaluate their teachers and consider their opinion. This is because they are the best ones to give a real feedback to the tutors and their assessment will motivate the teachers to give their best in their profession.