Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people, especially in the Asian culture, believe that the student should admire their teachers and should politely take the lectures from them. However, in my opinion, students should evaluate the performance of their teachers because this is not only helpful for them but also helpful for teachers.

To begin with, evaluating the teachers’ performance helps students to pick the best class among many classes. Rates and reviews about the teachers’ teaching skills and lecture qualities will help students to choose the most suitable classes for them. For example, when I was in my university years, I was asked to evaluate every class that I have attended. At every end of semesters, the student council of my department gathered information from students’ evaluations and ranked the professors and their lectures. Thanks to the ranking list from them, students were able to choose the lectures and professor wisely for the next semester.

On top of that, the evaluation of students will stimulate the teachers to improve their lecture qualities and teaching skills. If a teacher got the lowest rank among other teachers, this can be used as a motivation to develop his or her ability. To be specific, when I was a high school student, my school actually utilized this system to meet the students’ preferences. Even though most teachers at my school were excellent, there were apparent gaps between each teachers’ class quality. The class of the most high-rated teacher was extremely popular so that a waiting list was made by the students who failed to register in his class. In contrast, some teachers’ classes that failed to get reputation from their students were empty and eventually closed before the end of the semester. This stimulated unpopular teachers to develop their lectures and teaching methods. As a result, this evaluation increased the overall quality of my high school classes and give positive effects to both students and teachers.

To sum up, rating the performance of teachers is beneficial because it helps students to choose better classes and also motivates teachers to develop their abilities. In this regard, I strongly insist that students should evaluate the performance of their teachers.