Movies and television strongly influence the way people behave Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

In Korea, movies and TV programs are popular with many people. People are unconsciously affected by those media in many ways regardless of their positivity and negativity. I insist that movies and TV programs have a vast impact on peoples’ behavior for two elaborated reasons. I will explore those reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, people have been exposed to negative aspects of those media. Violent actions from the movie and sexual or uncommon behaviors from the TV programs can give a negative effect on people. To be specific, some movies including brutal action scenes an encourage teenagers to mimic those scenes. This can arouse a controversial situation in society. For example, there is a Japanese movie named ‘Crows Zero.’ In that movie, high school students fight to achieve the throne of their high school like a yakuza. They neither attend their classes and nor obey the rules of local society. Once when I was in my school years, there was a boom for this movie. Everyone imitate the characters of that movie because people in my school thought that is cool at that time. However, today, most students have been regretting that time due to their acceptance that those actions are merely bullying and not suitable for students.

On top of that, movies and television programs also can give positive effects on people. The arrival of celebrities and influencers on those media makes people mimic their positive activities. That is the reason why many un-profitable organizations use top-stars as their commercial models. People easily can be encouraged by them thanks to their desire to resemble those celebrities. To be specific, a female sing-a-song writer named IU appeared at a TV show in Korea. The purpose of that show was to gather a specific amount of money for refugees. However, the program always failed to fulfill their expectations due to the fact that people were not interested in that show. However, the influence of IU, the top-tier K-pop star, reversed the reputation of the show and make people donate their money to follow IUs’ positive action. As a result, the program scored the highest donation rate in its history.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that TV shows and movies can affect people in both positive and negative ways. Therefore, I insist that the existence of those media is one of the strong components which encourage peoples’ behaviors.