Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people succeed, it is entirely because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with their success. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is true that luck is a component of peoples’ achievement. Nevertheless, without hard work, people barely achieve whatever they want. In my opinion, working hard is not only a prerequisite of success but also the main reason for it. I will present two elaborated reasons for my assertion in the following essay.

First of all, people cannot achieve something without hard work to get it. Some aspects of success can be given to some people without much effort. However, they also need to work hard to maintain their successful statement. For example, there was one of my friends who have innate superior physical abilities. Most physical tests during our school years were not demanding for him at all. With his superb abilities, he tried to go to KNSU, Korean National Sports University. However, students who applied to that school mostly had a similar level with him in a physical test. Unfortunately, he failed to go to that university due to his halfhearted attitude when he was nineteen. Therefore, in the 2nd chance of the next year, he practiced every day to pass the test of the university. As a result, now he works at the university as a teaching assistant and is willing to go to graduate school this year.

Second, there are some aspects of life which cannot be achieved with peoples’ effort. Some factors such as social connections and unexpected happening may affect the succession of people. However, there are some people who try extremely hard so that they succeed to control their own luck. Luck is a combination of diverse situations which means that people can affect their luckiness by managing every aspect of life. It is not easy to achieve, but there are some people who succeeded. For example, major league baseball player Otani Shohei wrote about his lifestyle and made a table to manage it since he was a student. In that table, he divined his life into nine sections which are easy to oversee. One of those tables is about his luck. He split that part once again into nine pieces and wrote down actions he had to do to control his luck such as wiping equipment after every practice and be polite to every people. It is unclear that those tables affect his luck or not. However, it seems that people can get succession by trying hard enough to control their own luck.

In conclusion, people can get succession by working hard even they are gifted with innate abilities. Luck is the only factor that can be manipulated by peoples’ discipline effort. Therefore, when people succeed, hard work is the most important factor among others.