Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Author claim represent the two viewpoints held by people. Author posits that some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive as competition will bring enthusiasm among leaders to perform better in order to be in competition whereas other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others as an essential quality of any leader is ‘co-operation’, leader cannot succeed alone, he/she needs co-operation from teams member to achieve success.

In any field, competition is must as competition spurs people to work diligently to achieve success. Today there are more than one brands of any product, thus companies need to work indefatigable to strive in this competitive world. Consider the brands of mobile, back in past, there were merely a competition between mobile companies as there were only few companies who are developing mobile phone. Considering current situation, there are some many brands of mobile phone that companies need to provide novel features to strive in market and also companies are introducing new version of mobile phone too frequently, so that it can excite people to choose their brands over others. Thus, in my opinion, successful leaders may it be in government, industry or in any other fields must require competition as it forces leaders to come up with creative ideas. Competition is also proved better for people as in above case people will able to use mobile phones consisting of more innovative features.

However, Co-operation is a key to success. If Leader is not willing to cooperate then competition will attribute to exacerbate the loss. Leader unwilling to cooperate may create chaos among the teams and will never able to achieve success. History provides us plethora of example where leaders unwilling to cooperate with his/her teams member had led to failure and made leaders deprive of his/her powers. Consider current situation, where for India’s people, Narendra Modi is considered as best leader, will it be possible if his own team members were against him? Will they help Narendra modi during campaigns? Thus, for a leader to success, he/she should cooperate with their team members and involve them in decision making, it will led to gaining of trust and loyalty from his/her team members. Leaders unwilling to put trust in his/her team member and not involving them in decision making then he/she may instigate a ill-will among his/her team member which will lead to alienating his/her team member among him/her.

On wrapping up, Cooperation is important factor in achieving success while working in team. A leader unwilling to cooperate with his/her team may lead to bringing spite among his/her team member. Though, competition is one of the contributing factors to success but if there is no cooperation among leader and his/her team member than competition will actually contribute in exacerbating the situation.