All to often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

Author's claim "All to often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary", in my opinion holds little credence as consultants are the one who have great proficiency in doing their jobs and also have quite profound knowledge and experience in tackling different kinds of problems related to companies. However, many hire authorities overlook the problems faced at employee level and instead of concerning to employees to surmount problems they seek advice of the consultant who might fail to resolve it. On the outset, hiring consultant have more advantages compared to seeking advice of employees. Following are the reasons for my accordance with the author.

Firstly, Concerning employees might give jaundiced suggestion as in order to make their profits. Consider an example, If boss seek advice from employees regarding the working efficiency of the other employees, then it might happen that the employee whose advice boss will accept as truth value would state some of the apocryphal statements about other employees who doesn't have good relationship with him/her. Such scenario instead of really understanding the loop holes to improve the work efficiency might not result in understanding the whole situation accurately. Thus, in such situation a third person should be called to evaluate the work efficiency of the employees.

Secondly, Consultants have deep knowledge and experience in their field. Thus, using the knowledge and experience, company can really excel in its workings. There are many problems prevailing in companies thus by hiring consultants to mitigate certain problem would reduce the load on the boss to look after other problems. Consultants expertise also helps company in taking efficient decisions. Consider an example of heresy chocolate, it is one of the well-known chocolate company, but due to growing success and demands, company have faced serious failure because of not able to overcome demands and problems with time. Thus, it was later heresy chocolate hired ERP system to par such difficulty in functioning which include consultants, ERP system implementor, etc.This example aptly illustrate the role of consultant in overcoming the problems and achieve success.

However, Companies to endure in its business should heed problems of employees as employees are the base of the company on which company stand and eluding their problems might cause great harm to company in its functioning and efficiency. Employees should feel equally responsible for company's success and seeking their advice might result in acquiring creative and innovative ideas. Such action would not only make employees active to contribute towards betterment of the company but it might also result in assimilating better ideas in their domain. For example, would consultant able to answer the problems related to functioning of employee's domain accurately without understanding the intricate and minute details of their working? Thus, both employee and consultant should work in accordance to mitigate the problems.

On wrapping up, Consultants are important because of their expertise and knowledge to solve variety of problems however employees are also important to company for their rich knowledge in their domain. Thus both consultant as well as employee should work together to alleviate the problems of the company. This would also allow employees to take part in important decision making and feel responsible in success of the company.