Popular events like football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Popular sporting occasions help to maintain the peace and a better relationship between the countries but it would remain intact unless and until participants keep it a healthy competition. Therefore I partly agree to the statement.

Till few decade back, wars between countries did nothing but created chaos, unnecessary loss of lives, waste of resources and international tensions. But now time has changed, World Cup and different sporting events are organized to create a healthy relationship among the countries. These are kind of wars with certain rules and restricted with time. There is no loss of lives, rather the resources are utilized properly and talents of people are channelized in a proper manner. Some countries win the title and some lose, but this defeat helps to do better in the next event. For example Olympics are organized every 5 years. By participating in these competitions we get to know about different people from different countries and it also helps to understand their culture and traditions. Apart from that representing our country on international level is the most proud thing one could ever experience.

But on their other hand the greed to win the competitions forces the participant to use illegal way or by heinous means. For example some participants bribe the judges or the referee to give the decision on their side. Apart from this, sometimes participants get addicted to weed and drugs which not only depletes their health but also leads to disobeying rules of the tournament. Also abusing other players, bullying them and using profane language with judges, organizers and participants’ results in disharmony with other countries.

Therefore in conclusion, I think popular events and international tournaments help to maintain the peace and harmony internationally, but restrictions should be more strict to stop illegal means to win a competition.