Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author believes that we should only save those species which are on the verge of extinction only if they are at this stage because of human activities. I generally disagree to this policy and would substantiate my views in the following essay which will elaborate my reasons of disagreement.

Human is the only animal on this planet who has been given power to think and act, rest all are in a way helpless creatures who follow a specific course of action as their genetic material commands. If we are able to help a creature to preclude from extinction why shall we take a back seat. If you have a resource and the power to use that extremely powerful resource then why not use it for a good cause. Till date humans have exploited earth's myriad resources from non-living to living things, now is the payback time.

Also, we also need to consider that if we only save those who are at a verge of extinction due to human activities, then there might be a case that some species are on the verge of extinction who are an extremely important part of the food chain but they are not endangered due to human activities. For example- due to some natural calamity, if insects eating dead remains becomes endangered, we need to quickly take action on it and try to preclude the extinction. It is because if they becomes extinct the repercussions would be catastrophic. The dead remains will become pervasive and as no one would be there to consume it, it will pile up and bring widespread diseases, which might end up taking lives of several human beings.

We also need to consider the fact that we live in a symbiosis world where we all are like a one big family. We are social creatures. we are dependent on several species and several species are dependent on us. It is this relation that has maintained the life still sustainable on this planet. Imagine if we just ignore a species who we are dependent and let them die off just because we are not the reason for their misery. This reasoning is both illogical and hideous.

Though we must ponder about it before taking any action. there might be some distant species who are naturally dying off or say evolving and its previous generation is dying off, then we cannot come in between their metamorphosis process. Also we need to think about various other factors like there are many other very crucial issues prevalent before humans that need exigent attention. So, we need to choose wisely; how much resources we can spend on it currently.