People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The author of this statement claims that the driving force behind people's behavior is not determined by their own makings. due to some cogent reason I agree also agree to his claim.

human is a social creature it requires to interact with others. humans live in a symbiosis relationship and hence, the nature of human's behavior is largely affected by its surroundings and less by its own makings. For example- if a man is having a good day and have done great deeds but he might become churlish if someone say a begger keep on goading him for money. Here his behavior was determined by the external factor "begger", though he was having a good day and was in a good mood but the external factor changed his behavior.

In the realm of business also, if a man is working too hard to achieve say promotion, he might not get one because of myriad of reasons which are not in his control like vacancy for that job title or any other obstacle. due to these factors which are not in his control he might not get what he wants and due to this he might become unhappy and this would certainly affect his behavior.

Talking about other areas also, the situation is same. Be it politics or government. human's behavior is highly susceptible to external factors and not by his own makings. For example- if a man is working hard day and night and also is magnanimous but he might get irritated by few who envy him.

there are also people like sages who are inured to external forces and their behavior is largely determined by their own makings. Not only sages but there are few who have that blissful nature which does not get affected by external forces. but there are very few of those who have such mastery of not getting affected and be calm.

In sum, due to the factors which are not in our hands makes human behavior more susceptible to forces not of own makings rather some external factors. hence. author's contention is apposite to a large extent.