“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

The question to which extent a noble end justifies the means is a constant debate among laymen and philosophers alike, and one of the most important applications of this problem is to which extent a government may circumvent otherwise applicable civil laws if it is considered to be in the interest of national security. While a completely benign government, in theory, could use this power in the interest of the people, the circumstances of the real world renders a government that strictly adheres to its contitutional limits the preferable option.

In order to argue that governments can use any means necessary in the protection of national security, it must be ignored or overlooked that the government will not use this power in any other potentially pernicious ways. Even though a government might be elected by the people, the people also elect them within the rules of the game that is the constitution of the country. A government that was elected to rule does not by implication have the authority to circumvent civil laws, but the people only give the government, by definition, the permisssion to rule within the limits set by the coutry’s constitution. Leaders that are free to make make arbitrary rule is the antithesis to a government that is stable and, consequently, works in the long-term interest of national security.

Someone on the other side of the debate might refer to a classical example in moral philosophy, where a terrorist has been captured, and is known to have information that would save lives if it were obtained, and the only way to get information form the terrorist was to torture him. Intuitively, people argue that it would be permissible to torture the terrorist in this case, with which I agree, as the benefits outweigh the costs by several orders of magnitude in this theoretical example.

However, this argument is not analogous to the real-world situation, as the premise of getting to know a definite answer and the terrorist being definitely guilty are both far from the real-world problem states face. Governments that use this justification are much more likely to torture innocent people than they are to save lives from ordinary citizens, and consequently commit crimes on their own that both cause tremendous harm and undermine legitimacy of the government. If the “terrorist” in the example is not in fact a terrorist, but only a suspect, or turns out to be innocent, the government commits an atrocious human rights abuse through using torture, as I am sure most people would agree with.

It also applies to the real world that governments that circumvent civil ways whenever they consider it plausible will grow more and more authoritarian. The premise of a well-functioning government by the people and for the people is that the rules under which it governs are known and publically available to the people, and a government that has the de facto right to circumvent the laws that it does not deem apt for its purposes is not a government of the people at all.

Therefore, a government must always stay within its limits given to it by its people. No excuses of “national security” or any other pretenses should serve as sufficient explanations. If the government wants additioanl authority to use more controversial means in the event of an emergency, it should first ask for this authority by the people it purports to serve, as that is the only long-term solution that will guarantee government stability and a mutually beneficial symbiosis between state and people.