A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the jazz club the C-note should be established relies on some assumptions that are not completely sound. In order for it to be possible to evaluate the efficacy of the proposal, additional evidence is needed to fill the gaps in the reasoning. Below, I adress three points of evidence that would help strenghten the argument.

First, the argument states that if the club was established, it would have all of the local market to itself. The assumption of this asseration, however, is that consumers consider jazz as a separate good to all other entertainment. This is not possible to claim without further evidence. More detailed data as to what extent people consider jazz clubs interchangeable to other forms of evening entertainment would therefore help evaluate the argument. If those who are interested in jazz consisder it a separate thing entirely, the argument is strenghtned, and if they consider it merely one of several possible ways of spending an evening the argument is weakened, as it means that the C-note will face harder competition.

Second, the argument cites the amount of people that attend the annual jazz festival as evidence that there is demand for the club. This assumes, however, that the people who attend the festival are locals. It seems a priori plausible that people from other cities would also attend the festival, which would undermine the argument, as people from other cities are not as likely to come to Monroe just to attend a club. Hence, data on how much of the local populaition as opposed to people coming from the outside that attend the festival would help strenghten the argument, particularly if it is compared to Monroe’s population. If a significant amount of people, compared to the population of Monroe, attend the festival the argument’s conclusion would be strenghted, and if it turns out that most of the people come from other places, it is weakened.

Third, the argument cites the popularity of a radio show as evidence that there is demand for a jaz club. This however relies on the assumption that people listen to the radio show for the particular characteristic of jazz and not for some other reason. As the program is aired around the same time as people get home from work, it seems plausible that it might be the most popular simply because of the fact that a lot of people have the radio on at that time. Another possible reason is that the program has other characteristics that make it better than the competition, like good hosts. At least, we cannot rule those possibilities out without further investigation of the listening habits and opinion polls of why people listen to that radio station in particular.

Ultimately, the argument is therefore not convincing without further evidence. If evidence was gathered as to the elasticity of substitution for jazz as a good as compared to other forms of entertainment, the specific breakdown of the atendeed of the annual festival, and other possible factors that could theoretically explain the success of the radio station, we would be able to evaluate the argument’s conclusion more thoroughly.