The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe."A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument the author concludes that the jazz club, named the C note, would make great profit to monroe. To justify this conclusion, the developers point out that the nearest jazz music club is over 60 miles away from monroe, and there is some evidence of the popularity of jazz in this city. As further support for the argument, the author notes that a typical jazz fan spends close to $1, 000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, I find the argument unpersuasive on several grounds.

one major problem is about the scope of the city. If the city is a slender shape, 60 miles is just the distance from the eastest to the westest of the city. Then 60 miles is not far away from people lived in monroe. And there is also a problem about where to place the proposed club in such a slender shape city. so the author should think over the site of the club before take action.

Additionally, there are several questions the developers need to answer about the ample evidence. do 100,000 people who attended monroe's jazz festival last summer all belong to the monroe? Since the club is focus on their local residents, 100, 000 outside people do not convincing. The author also mentions that there are several well-known jazz musicians live in monroe. But “several” is a ambiguity word. maybe just one musician lives in the city. so the author should do more research about the evidence before open the club.

Finally, there is a study about the typical jazz fan’s annual spends should be discussed. How many typical jazz fans this city have? Does this study apply to this city? maybe this city teem with poverty people, and they may not have extra money to entertain. Thus the author should do a more specific survey for monroe.

In sum, this argument is logically flawed and therefore untenable as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the editorial’s author must at a very least provide clear evidence about the shape of the city, the number of the musicians in this city and the jazz fans annual expends.