The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the part of the application for small –business loan by a group of developers states that the jazz music club in the city of monroe is profitable. they support their positions by stating that there is no currently operating music club in the city of monroe, more than 1000,000 people participated in the annual music festival during summer, well known musicians are residents of the city of the monroe, and a typical jazz fan spends about $1000 per year. Outwardly, it seems plausible that the given argument is correct, however, upon closer scrutiny, it suffers from several flaws. For the better evaluation of the given argument, authors need to provide more evidence for the better evaluation of the given argument.

Firstly, authors hastily assume that after establishment of the jazz club in the city of the monroe, people shun to go to the nearest music club located at 65 kilometer away from the city of monroe. however, it might be possible that the [people prefer to go the nearest city than to their own city because people may need more isolated area for entertainment. Or, it might be possible that they continue to go to the nearest jazz music club because of their cheaper services. if this is true then authors argument is seriously weakened.

Secondly, authors assume that more than 1000,000 people attended the national annual jazz music festival so that they are surely attended the jazz music forever. however, it might be possible that they went to jazz music festival during the summer due to their vacation and are not actually not interested in jazz music. furthermore, they went to the jazz music festival because of the free entry and are not willing to pay money for the jazz entertainment. if this holds true, then, authors argument is severely weakened.

Last but not least, authors hastily assume that more well-known musician live in Monore so that more customers will attend their club. however, it might be possible that although they live in monroe, but work in the other music club in the others city. furthermore, due to the involvement of the well-known musicians their cost is significantly increased and because of high entry fees, only limited number of the people attended their music club. if this happens true, then the authors conclusions will be undermined.

In a nutshell, authors make conclusions based upon several unwarranted assumptions, as a result, the truth of the given argument is limited. For the better evaluation of the given argument, authors need to provide more pieces of evidences (based upon scientific study) so that the reliability of the given argument can be increased.