Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

I do not agree with this topic totally. I think scientists and other researchers should focus on areas that need for ours even if they are just benefit a small number of people.

In the area of medical science, a majority of scientists are concentrate on a specific malidy which may infect a few people or maybe no one infected by it now. however, everyone of us could not assure one mircobiome have not been reported to relate to any disease today could not cause an erupt in human such as H7N9 virus. it is too late to conduct a research to a pathogen when it has pervealled in people and has caused death in many people.

In the astronomy area, secientists focus on an unknown plant, which may not benefit the greatest number of people. But it is pretty important for a nation to be a powerful country. Take the research of moon for an example, every country in the wrold wants to climb the moon first, which will improve the reputation of their country in the wrold.

As for researchers who focus on history, which is different from those scientists who explore something about the future, they research things had happened hureands and throards years ago. You may think those things were useless to us and can not benefit the greatest number of people, however, researching on history is also essential to us and can tell us where we came and what we derivateed from.

In sum, every area has its own function to human. we could not justfy them with the only number of people who benefited by them.