The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

A frequent matter of debate is whether conveniences of today are causing us to remain in an invirtuous state, oblivious of what real hardship is like, and ultimately not becoming strong individuals. Below I will argue that while this line of though has its merits, it is ultimately unpersuasive.

The main argument for luxuries spoiling the capacity to develop strength is that the people who have never experienced a certain set of problems have the tendency to take their solutions for granted. For instance, a person that has never had to perform hard physical labor to satiate her hunger might not know what it is truly like to desire food, merely by the accident of being born into a society affluent enough to accommodate for those needs no matter what she does. However, this should be viewed as a blessing rather than a curse. The fact that humanity has made progress in its strides such that the most acute problems of the population are eradicated is ultimately good for all of us.

Furthermore, we should not rule out that a new society allows us to grow as individuals in other ways, channeling the effort that previously would have gone into survival into other creative activities that require the same sense of fatique and responsibility that was previously necessary for performing tasks of a more mundane nature. While people today might not starve if they fail to take responsibility, their negligence still have a negative impact on them if they act weak or dependable. A person who neglects his or her duties will suffer the consequences through loneliness, unemployment, or poor health. There is still a lot of potential suffering in the world, even for the privileged, if they do not shoulder their responsibilities -- it is merely manifested differently than it has before.

Finally, some human problems never change no matter the technological leaps. The interaction between friends, family members or even lovers cannot be altered significantly by technology, nor reduced to numbers. Maintaining healthy relationships to other people is a struggle that we all have to deal with, no matter our societies or limitaitons, and in these domains the capacity to develop strength and character will always persist as long as there are human beings to interact with. In some domains, we all have to deal with virtually similar struggles no matter our societies or circumstances.

Hence, we should ultimately not equivocate technological progress as removing the need for human virtues – only as tranforming their concrete manifestations. A person’s character will always have a profound impact on her life, and while the problems do not look exactly the same as they always have, technology or the luxuries of our times should not be viewed as detrimental to neither the capacity nor the necessity to develop into a strong individual.