a

There is a constant discussion of the traits of cooperation and competition, and to which extent the two complement or discourage one another. For the leading figures in society, whether they be leaders in private or public sectors, this question becomes particularly relevant, particulrly when it comes to educate the next generation that will ultimately take its place. While the virtues of cooperation are clearly beneficial in many settings, society is unlikely to gain on an aggregate level from artificially trying to instill a sense of cooperation in young people, prioritizing it over the trait of competitiveness.

If we consider an individual in a public position, particuarly in government, we would clearly prefer that she be cooperative rather than competitive, as that would work in the public interest. The analogous argument could be made for business leaders to make sure that its practices are ethical. However, individuals cannot reach such a position of power without first undertaking, and conquering, major competitive challenges, and therefore it is simply unrealistic for any individual that they should reach such a position in the first place if they are also not simultaneously trained in the competitive traits. Arguing that young people should be instilled in a cooperative rather than a competitive sense because this will serve them as leaders is, consequently, like teaching them how to handle subordinate employees without teaching them how to become a manager in the first place.

Of course, this is not to say that cooperation is void of merits. Indeed, particularly disagreeable people, that are the most likely to be competetitve, could benefit from a marginal increase of cooperation the most. It could therefore be argued, as disagreeable people are also those who are likely to climb the competitive corporate or public office ladder, that instilling them with a dose of cooperation would have a high benefit. However, this argument would need to assume that this sample is representative for the population, or that the effect on the rest of the population does not offset this effect. On an aggregated level, this is unlikely to be true. Just like some overly competitive people would benefit from more compassion, some overly compassionate people would benefit from being more competitive and find themselves in the reverse situation. Therefore, prioritizing one over the other is unlikely to benefit the population as a whole on this particular matter.

On the whole, both competition and cooperation have their merits, but we cannot create the leaders that we need only from a sense of cooperation, as the people that will reach those positions in the first place will inevitably be those that have no problems competing in the first place. Just like they might benefit from more cooperation, there are overly cooperative people who would benefit from being more competitive, to take them into the game in the first place. Therefore, it is ultimately not desirable to prioritize cooperation over competition for young people as a whole, but it is unique to each individual the trait that she would best benefit from improving.