The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Where a person is born and raised can have a myriad impact to grow as an individual. Luxuries and privileges can help or ruin a person’s ability of grow as a strong individual. There’s a vast chance of debate over how luxury and privilege can make a significant impact in a person’s life but I think there must have a balance letting luxury ruin a person’s potential and making oneself a strong individual.

First and foremost, those who get privileges tend to understand and value anything that they get. As there’s no struggle to achieve something, one can easily take this life for granted. This practice can mar one’s potential to be an independent individual. A privileged person knows that there’s someone or something that can always take him/her out from any problems, they don’t feel the urge to become a strong person of their own. On the contrary, a not so privileged person has to struggle to achieve anything in life and this practice make him/her value one’s life.

Furthermore, to become a strong independent individual one has to work hard to gain for something he/she has cherished for long. In this process, success doesn’t come easily which will make a person to be more patient as well as strong. Moreover, by fighting his/her own problem a person will become mentally strong which will make him confident in the long run. Having luxury always makes a person remember that he/she has some backup so a person can always cede anything without even trying.

On the contrary, having luxuries and privileges can give him enough confident to take any risk in life. Having a head start can bolster one’s will to achieve something greater in life. For example, world’s fifth richest person Mukesh Ambani make an emperor with his hard work and talent. But he was from a well established family. He took his father’s business to a whole new level that now he and his brother is one of the richest men in India. So having luxury can make a strong personality.

Lastly, balancing with what we have and how to exploit the resources can make a person or damage one’s personality.