Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before.

A company’s manager hopes that new supply and new strategy will make the business profitable. At first glance, this seems plausible for a reader but on scrutiny we come to notice that the assumption is fallacious. The author makes several assumption that need to be addressed before reaching any conclusion.

First and foremost, five years ago the company had difficulty in collecting high quality wool fabrics. But now they find new suppliers to resume production. They are hoping for profit since the overcoat was demanding five years ago. The basis of this assumption is flawed for several reasons. The author has not mention anything related to why they were out of supplies five years ago. The author is not clear about how they are getting supplies this time. The company should enumerate past experiences before starting to think about profit. Does the suppliers will be long-lasting? What are the reasons that the supplies stopped 5 years ago? Does we have enough manpower to continue the production? Without going through these questions assuming that the company will make a profit doesn’t seem plausible.

Furthermore, the author thinks that they will have the same customer demand as five years ago. This assumption can be true but without sufficient evidences the author should not reach into conclusion. The demand for overcoat five years ago may not be the same as now. There has other factors that should be considered like change of fashion, change of demand like weather can be different than five years ago. The author has not mentioned anything about these factors that can warrant his assumption on overcoat demand.

Moreover, the author mentions that other competitors are not offering a comparable product so the demand for Sartorian’s overcoat will be high which will lead the company to profit higher. Again this assumption has flaws because of lack of further information. Before making any conclusion the company should analyze why other companies are not offering any such product. Maybe they are offering different product or different design that can surpass the need of overcoat or they are something more relatable to time and fashion. But the author hasn’t done any such analysis.

Lastly, the recommendation that the author made upon some assumption maybe true, but before starting production of overcoat the company should scrutinize factors that can jeopardize the business in the future.