Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before.

In the article the author mentions that Sartorian company used to sell alpaca coat until five years ago, but then they had to discontinue production because the supply of high quality wool fabric which was not reliable. Now that there is a new supplier, they can resume production. This will increase the business and profitability of the company. This is based on the arguments that customers were frustrated when they stopped sale of the overcoats because they all loved the quality of their coat that no competitor could produce.

Apparently the author has some valid points, but it is necessary to validate the plausibility of the arguments presented and the underlying assumptions.

Customers’ ”outcry”, when the production and sale of the alpaca coats were discontinued, proves that the overcoats produced by Sartorian was really high quality and high demand. Then why the decision had to be taken to stop selling it? Reason sited was, unreliable supply of the wool fabric. Question that should first comes to someone’s mind is, is that root cause now addressed? Is the new supplier fully reliable? The answer to that is not given in the write up.

Even if we are assured that the supplier is a reliable one, the next thing that we should get confirmed is the assumption on demand. Five years ago there was demand due to high quality of Sartarian’s coats. But in this long period, there may be ample causes that can drive down this demand. There is a chance that in today’s fashion, people do not use alpaca coats any more. Competitors who produced inferior quality coats earlier, may have improved their quality. And finally, as agreed by the author himself or herself, prices of clothing have gone up. So there is no certainty people will go for alpaca coat. There may be cheaper, better and more fashionable alternatives in today’s marker.

Last but not the least, author is talking about increased profitability. Even if all the above arguments go in favor of the author and we assume sale will be very high, we need to go to the computation table and estimate the revenue-cost relations to understand whether an increase in sale will really result in increase in profit. There are other factors such as cost of raw materials, transportation or labor, that may have increased quite a lot in this time.

Unless substantiated by these details, the author’s point of view cannot be fully supported.