Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

In this passage, the author asserts that there is a herb called Nosinia which may be a great relief for patients with allergies. His / her hypotheses is revolving around one central premise – findings of a research involving some patients who had allergies to a particular type of pollen, and who were treated with the herb and another placebo. Author claims that although the effect of neither was significant, patients with severe allergy got better relief with the herb, when compared to the placebo. Also, the patients treated with the herb were healthier at the end of the research.

The veracity of the argument is in complete doubt, since the logic provided to substantiate the claim has numerous loopholes. First of all, there are plethora of allergy sources whereas the research was done only with allergies from a single source – the ragweed pollen. Therefore, It doesn’t warrant that the outcome will be same for allergies from another source. Also, only one placebo was used whereas there may be other placebos that could have given much better results than Nosinia.

Secondly, 95 people is a very small sample size, and it is also not known if the sample was taken from a varied population or only from a small geography or ethnicity. These factors play tremendous effect in any research and are very important for taking a decision on something as serious as finalizing a remedy of an annoyingsymptom or disease.

Effect of the herb, in general, was not much except that, as the author claims, it was better only for people with more severe allergies. This obfuscates the reason for suddenly recommending Nosinia for people suffering from allergy.

Finally, information is also not available whether the ill effects of Nosinia were meticulously analyzed. Even if, for the sake of argument, we assume that Nosinia is a great cure for allergies, what if it brings with it other syndromes that may be even worse that enduring allergy?

To summarize, the claim stands unjustified at the moment until more information is made available on the issues discussed above.