Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

In the above assertion, the author has opined that the company should increase coverage of weather and local news, in order to get more viewership and advertisement. The reason that is sited here is, the increased complaints from viewers about lack of coverage or weather and local news, and loss of revenue from advertisement. The time-period, for which this observation is based upon, is around one year.

Unless substantiated with well-collected data, it doesn’t seem too obvious, that telecasting national news reduces viewership - for then the question will be, who watches national news. People are equally interested to know about their local happening as well as the national level events. After a long day’s work, people sit beside their television set to watch their respective favorite programs, and national news, local news, weather, sports or movies are equally probable to be watched. During a political election or a nation-wide sports tournament, people are more interested to watch the national channels than local channels. So these two types of news are not competing rather they are complementary to each other.

Clearly, there are two parts of the argument, one of which seems plausible while the other part lacks veracity. The first part that says, there has been increased complaint from viewers about the coverage of weather and local news, seems justified, because it comes directly from the affected mass. If a number of people come and state that they are not satisfied with the coverage, there can be nothing to argue against that. No survey could have been more effective to bring forth such feedback. Here, it will not be prudent to assume that some people, with vested interested to perplex the TV channel company, intentionally came up with such spurious feedback.

On the other hand, the assertion that the local businesses have cancelled their advertisement contract just for the fact that national news is getting more priority, is fallacious. In all probability, the viewership has not reduced. There may be another reason for less advertisement contracts such as a new and better TV channel that may have come up, or another more modern method of advertising, such as internet-based digital advertisement, has emerged. Or may be another channels has started telecasting something even more interesting.

To conclude, the TV channel can consider striking a balance between coverage of local and national news, but the reason to focus should only be the customer complaints, and not the attenuation of revenue from advertisement.