Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean.

In the given statement, the author asserts that Monarch Books, which has developed a large client base since its inception twenty years ago, must open an in-store café, in order to counter the upcoming competitor, Books and Beans, which has a café of its own, along with the book business. Thereafter, he proposes that the place for the café can be arranged by getting rid of the space provided for children’s books, as a recent national census has indicated steep decline in the that children population, and hence the demand for children’s books.

The hypothesis is revolving around the central theme of an in-store café, and is built on a baseless foundation that demand for children’s books is on a decline. Monarch Books has a reputation of twenty years, and over this time, it has developed a loyal customer base. Books and Beans is new, and is trying to steal the show by including the in-store café. It has to be noted that, avid book-lovers visit book-stores for good quality books, and not for coffee or pastry. Over years, Monarch’s customers have been visiting Monarch without a café, just because the variety, quality and price of the books have kept them satiated. They can always visit a nearby café outside the book-store if they feel like drinking a cup of coffee. Therefore, unavailability of an in-store café should not be taken as a threat to lose customers.

Even after assuming the census is correct and the children population is going to decline, one should remember that the children’s section is not a stand-alone department in the bookstore, but an integral part of it. Many adults love comics books such as the Tintin series. Even if children population is on a decline, this adult population will keep expecting such books in the store. Moreover, the children do not come to the store all alone. They are accompanied by adults. So, when a family comes to the book-store to buy books or to enjoy some time reading, they may not feel comfortable if a children’s section is not available. What will their children do when the parents are reading books in the adult section? This will make some families think that Books and Beans is be a better option where the children’s section is already there.

Thus, the suggestion that an in-store café must be opened in Monrach store, and the children’ section must be closed, is completely disagreeable. This will definitely not help Monarch gain in sales, rather it can prove fatal by driving out some of existing customers to the new vendor Books and Beans.