Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

The concept that arts is food for the mind, is indisputably accepted across the globe, including the poor nations where most people do not get two square meals. It gives us relaxation after a tedious day of work, or at remorseful moments. Arts in many different forms are prevalent since the ancient days, and it is generally considered as an indispensable part of life. All governments budget for a considerable amount of money every year, to bolster and spread these forms of arts.

Having said that, there are times when everything is not right. In situations where people are unemployed, food is expensive, and most people are starving physically, it may not make much sense to spend frivolous amount of money in arts. After all, what is the point of feeding the mind, when the body itself is starving? Instead, the amount should be spent to create more jobs so that people can earn enough to buy the basic necessities of life. Or t can be used to subsidize food that is otherwise too expensive to reach the hands of common people.

The scene is not very uncommon across many countries in the world where people are enjoying a birthday or wedding ceremony, while some poor and hungry people are waiting outside to get the remains of the food. Since time immemorial, kings or rich people have kept on organizing magnificent events on music, poem or drama, accompanied with luxurious dinner or hunting parties, while the ordinary people in the kingdom are suffering from malnutrition. This can’t be supported any more in modern days.

The main objectives of any government’s budget planning is, the benefits have to reach the people. The people should first get the basic necessities, and after meeting that need, there can be provisions for upliftment of quality of life. Arts is part of this upliftment, while food falls under the basic requirements category.

However, it is also to be considered that, there are a number of people who live on particular form of arts. A rural singer who earns money by singing a song to the public, or an artist selling portraits of rich people, are to be supported wherever required. It is not a big amount, and should not have much impact in overall idea of curtailing cost in arts and spending that saved money in welfare of common people.