Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

For centuries, scientists are working tirelessly in the laboratories, with some purpose in mind which they wanted to achieve by following certain pre-planned steps. Even when the research work didn’t reach a stage when laboratories have come into existence, people used to apply thought process in order to enhance the way of working, which gave us the gifts of fire, or wheel. It can be assumed that most of these researches never yielded the intended outcome, while some of them had actually achieved the goals. However, there are indeed a few well-known cases of research, or some other unplanned activities, that went in a completely different direction, with the researcher, to his utter surprise, finding something that have proved quite useful in the history of mankind, but the original purpose was nowhere close to what could be ultimately achieved.

Otherwise, what shall we call the discovery of some of the great medicines of all time – including penicillin, insulin, quinine, or even viagra? Saccharine was discovered when the scientists were actually doing some other chemical researches, forgot to wash hands, and found everything they touch with their hands taste sweet. They patented Saccharine which was 400 times sweeter than sugar, and was of great importance during the world wars, as a replacement of sugar. Even microwaves, radioactivity or LSD fall into this serendipitous category of great accidental inventions.

We all know, Wilhelm Roentgen discovered X-rays when he was experimenting with cathode ray tubes. He saw some rays leaking out of the container, and tried to stop that by using thicker materials with no results. Then he tried to put his hands to stop that emission, and he clearly saw his bones visible in the wall placed next to his hands. He immediately recognize ho beneficial this rays will be to diagnose inside human body, and X-rays saw daylight for the first time.

It is said that Tea, the most widespread beverage in the world, was discovered by a Chinese emperor. He sat under a tree after an long day of travel, and was served with some hot water. Suddenly a few leaves from the tree fell into the water. When the emperor drank it, he had very refreshing feeling. That was how tea was discovered, with no active pursuit to find a beverage.

Viagra, originally intended to be a heart remedy, was found quite ineffective for heart patients, but those used it reported an increased erectile function. When experimented with this new objective, it has found to heal many patients with erectile dysfunction.

However, it will be a gross manipulation of truth to state that most of the discoveries happen this way. As state in the first paragraph, most discoveries are results of planned execution of research leading in the expected direction. In fact, today’s researches are monitored more frequently, and the accidents are less likely to happen. Still, once in a thousand cases, there may still be useful accidental results that keep making headlines.