Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The assertion here presents a view that each college must make arrangement to send ll their students to a foreign land at least for one full semester. Although the suggestion has some merits in terms of the completeness of a student’s overall education, it seems quixotic if we analyze the practical challenges when it comes to implementation.

The purpose of education is to ensure students acquire knowledge in order to become better human beings, who can take wise decisions, not only pertaining to himself or herself, but also for the welfare of his or her own society as well as for entire mankind when necessary. If a student stays a considerable time in a foreign land, he will inevitably be exposed to certain unique aspects of that country that he wouldn’t have experienced sitting in his own homeland. For example, a student from a developing nation, when placed in a developed nation, may get to learn better due to better infrastructure and, possibly, better quality of faculty. This enhances his level of education. On the other hand, when a student from a richer country stays in a poorer country for some time, he may not get better quality of education per se, but he may experience the other side of the world where people are bereft of minimum requirements for a living, and how they circumvent that. This may not directly enhance his curriculum-based education, but can actually make him a more knowledgeable human being. Moreover, in today’s globalized world, it will always be quite helpful to have a cross-cultural understanding, and the happenings outside one’s own nation, to be a successful decision maker.

However, there are many practical challenges to implement such an idea. Very few students will actually be able to sponsor their own travel to a foreign land, and a long stay there. So, this proposition will consume a huge amount of government budget, or sponsorships from private organizations. Given the number of students passing out each year in any country, getting such funding is a humungous job, if not impossible.

Furthermore, the way it happens today in international student community is, people physically sit in front of computer to undergo the required tests and get qualified for a foreign university. If it’s mandated for all students to move to a foreign land, this exercise becomes enormous with astronomical increase in number of students undergoing such tests. Unhealthy competition among students will emerge, which is not good for an educational environment.

Also, with increased international traffic, it will impose much additional burden on all the organizations that are involved in such movements, including the relevant ministries of the two nations. Very close coordination will be needed to ensure safe passage and stay for the students who will not have much idea about the place they are visiting. Given the increasing terrorism across the globe, who will take the responsibility of any untoward incident happening to them in the unknown location? Finally, it may be rewarding for students from a comparatively poorer nation to visit a richer nation for a semester. But the reverse may not be true. Therefore, it will eventually become the responsibility of a few developed nation to facilitate the study of students from other nations. That doesn’t seem to be a sustainable model.

To summarize, the idea that students should be studying abroad for a semester has some merits. But the challenges are insurmountable and the idea cannot be implemented. While it can be considered to make only a small number of excellent students travel and stay abroad for a while, mandating this for entire student community in any nation is not a practical proposition.