The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

The statement mentioned here is revolving around one central theme – the definition of “contemporary culture”, or what all factors constitute a nation’s culture. Of course, it is a blend of how different age groups behave, and not only based on how the activities or likings of the younger generation. However, the behavior of the youth is one of the most important parts of this culture, and of course the strongest impetus to drive how the culture will shape up in near future. Let us examine the youth’s influence on the contemporary, and also on the upcoming culture of a nation.

A child learns from its surrounding groups, its parents, neighbours, friends and teachers, which themselves are again influenced by the contemporary culture. If a country is well known for a particular game that is played all over the country with very high enthusiasm, the child will definitely get exposed to numerous discussions and participations from its immediate surroundings, and thus will get interested in that game. This creates a sustained culture of that game in the nation, which the future generations are expected to carry forward. However, with the introduction of television and international sports channels, it has been observed recently that many cricket-playing countries are moving towards the games of soccer or tennis, because they see those sports in the television and gets more interested in those games, leaving behind their own national game. Thus, a cultural change automatically gets initiated. At the beginning, some elders may not like it, creating some conflicting situations across generations which eventually fades away and the new culture gets its permanent place to reign for a fairly extended period.

Coming back to the definition of contemporary culture, it is not what the youth alone is doing. As I mentioned, it should be a blend of how various age groups behaving. For example, there may be three age groups – the oldest enjoying music, the middle aged enjoying sports, and the youth enjoying social media. We cannot conclude that social media takes the central stage of the nation’s culture. Rather we have to agree that the country has a varied culture and there is a well-defined trend. However, if we want to forecast how it will look like twenty five years later, one can effortlessly state that music will get cornered, and social media will come up as the major culture of this nation.

To summarize, the behavior of the youth is not exactly the contemporary culture, but it’s a very storng indicator of how the future culture will shape up. Culture is not only about music or sports. Countries are known for their hospitality or hostility, for their traditional never-ending contribution towards science or arts, or for poverty. Whatever it may be, this logic still prevails.