Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

For centuries, scientists are working tirelessly in the laboratories, with some purpose in mind which they wanted to achieve by following certain pre-planned steps. Even when the research work didn’t reach a stage when laboratories have come into existence, people used to apply thought process in order to enhance the way of working, which gave us the gifts of fire, or wheel. It can be assumed that most of these researches never yielded the intended outcome, while some of them had actually achieved the goals. However, there are indeed a few well-known cases of research, or some other unplanned activities, that went in a completely different direction, with the researcher, to his utter surprise, finding something that have proved quite useful in the history of mankind, but the original purpose was nowhere close to what could be ultimately achieved.

Otherwise, what shall we call the discovery of some of the great medicines of all time – including penicillin, insulin, quinine, or even viagra? Saccharine was discovered when the scientists, actually doing some other chemical researches, forgot to wash hands and found everything they touch with their hands taste sweet. Wilhelm Roentgen discovered X-rays when he was experimenting with cathode ray tubes, and accidentally found some rays leaking out, leaving the images of his bones in the wall. Even microwaves, radioactivity or LSD fall into this serendipitous category of great accidental inventions.

It is said that Tea, the most widespread beverage in the world, was discovered by a Chinese emperor. He sat under a tree after an long day of travel, and was served with some hot water. Suddenly a few leaves from the tree fell into the water. When the emperor drank it, he had very refreshing feeling. That was how tea was discovered, with no active pursuit to find a beverage.

However, it will be a gross manipulation of truth to state that most of the discoveries happen this way. As state in the first paragraph, most discoveries are results of planned execution of research leading in the expected direction. In fact, today’s researches are monitored more frequently, and the accidents are less likely to happen. Still, once in a thousand cases, there may still be useful accidental results that keep making headlines.