People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

The author here makes an assertion that the immediate surroundings of a person is more influential about how he will react to an external stimulus, compared to his character which is intrinsic to him, shaped up by the society over a period of time.

I generally support his assertion, with some qualifications. Here, we are considering attitude of an individual and not a group of people or a nation. If attitudes are completely driven by society, why not everyone from the same social background react in a congruent manner to similar situations? When the government announces a cut in tax rates, why does a person still behave in a pugnacious manner in a cheerful gathering?

Let us consider this situation. Same person will behave differently when he is in grief, than when he is jovial. The determine reason often will be a foregoing event that may be either sad or cheerful. These foregoing evets are our surroundings and not a social pattern.

Social influence builds character, surroundings make attitude. If a nation wants to change the behavior of its people, it has to bring up social changes in a way to reach their immediate surroundings through which the changes will reach the core of one’s inner self. Otherwise, there will be smaller sections of society automatically built up by people with similar mental patterns, and that will not be coherent to the intended social changes.

Coming back to the qualifications, it has to be noted that the attitude stands on a strong platform of character built from the society. Parents, school, friends and neighbors may be our surroundings as well, but they actually form the society. Whatever attitude someone shows, it’s a combined effect of his intrinsic nature and, on top of it, the immediate ongoing events. The later is more impactful, in the same way as the twigs oscillate more in a storm compared to the stem. This is conspicuously proved by a small number of people, from two extremes, who form exceptions. They are people with equanimity, and with irascibility. Their behavior is uniform, and comes from the inner core - almost unaffected by effects of immediate situations. One group will always behave in a placid manner however enlightened or gloomy the external world is. And the other section will be short-tempered even at the happiest moment.

In conclusion, attitudes are more impactful for most people, but is standing on a platform built by society. However, there are few number some people of two extremes, who will refute this assertion.