People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

People who are deeply committed to an idea are also the most critical to it. At a first glance, it seems to have some elements of truth, but one needs to evaluate this in the lights of various different scenarios. There are people who will argue against this assertion, with concrete examples where it’s not true. For most of such examples, a close examination will reveal that the commitment itself is in question, and not the hypotheses.

First, let us examine this for cases where the commitment is indubitable. The most obvious example is the parent-child relationship. It’s considered as the most selfless relationship in the nature. There is no doubt that parents fully commit themselves to their children, may be with very few exceptions. Now when it comes to the child’s progress, it’s the parents who are most critical about it. They look after every report card from the school, every movement in the playground, and will advise the child on how it could be improved. They do it because they aspire their child to be the best in everything, and not from any enmity. While they will expect their child to follow these advices, they will also make their lives difficult by being a part of it, by investing ore hour to take him to tuitions, proving with healthier food and many other such endeavors.

Similarly, when a scientist works on a theory or research, he tries to find error in everything until he thinks his point is well-proven, or nobody else can disprove it. When a sportsman tries hard to perfect himself, he criticizes him for slightest mistakes, toils hard in the gym or playground, because he want his mistakes to be exposed only to himself and not to the opponent in during the game. This happens is because these people have made commitments to themselves and not to anyone else.

On the other hand, there are opposite viewpoints as well, with most popular example being that of the politicians. People think they will any time go in reverse direction of what they committed earlier, if that direction is more lucrative in their career in current scenario. But a close look will reveal that the pooliticians do not commit to themselves as a sportsman or a scientist would do. They commit to people. Therefore if they renege on that later, our hypotheses has nothing to do.

There is only one very strong example, about religiousness. This is a question of belief and not logic, hence our assertion may not hold true here. People who are religious are committed, and are never critical to it, because they restrict themselves from using logic in it.

So to summarize, except may be a very small number of cases, the hypotheses seems to be agreeable.