It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Let us start examining this argument by understanding who can be a hero. To millions of people, someone is a hero if he or she wins their hearts by some means. They may achieve somethings that we all dream to achieve, but consider it an impossible task. Or they may have accomplished something that have changed lives of millions in a very positive sense. And of course, they have to leave a long lasting impact too on these people. Short term favorites, forgotten over time, are not heroes. Mahatma Gandhi or Nelson Mandella were worshipped by people while they were still alive, because their actions were already understood to be long lasting.

With this definition in mind, there are a large number of people, of different times, geographies and areas of work, who have won hearts of millions and have left a long-lasting effect in this world. They may have come different walks of life – from politics to cultural sides to sports. Now if we look at the current era, we can obviously see there are still people coming up from these areas who are still regarded and will be regarded for long time for something or other that they have done. For example, in football we have seen from Pele, Maradona to today’s Messi who are living legends, In Tennis, Roger Federar who has won a huge number of grand slam events, is and will be remembered by people for very long period. Steve Jobs reached the status of a hero during his lifetime only, because his work has changed the way we use handheld devices today. He has made lives much easier – from cab booking to online training.

So mere examples are enough to prove the assertion incorrect. But still, we can go ahead and discuss if someone may have some reasons to believe that a living person cannot be considered as a hero any more.

Hero is almost a superlative term. That means, whenever we consider someone as a hero at some specific area, little space is left in our heart to give another one the same status. This may sound ridiculous but this is the reason why supporters of Leonel Messi of Argentina fights bitterly with supporters of Ronaldo of Portugal, another maestro in the same field. Now, given that we have a limited set of areas to work on and excel, and all these areas seem to have been exhausted, one may think we cannot consider living people as heroes anymore, because a dead person has already occupied that position.

And then why do we still see heroes who are living? The reason is, with progress of time, more areas are opened up. Steve Jobs’ area of work in technology was not available a century ago. And another reason, specifically in areas of sports, or any competitive activity, is that someone may surpass achievements of another established gentleman. Someone may win more trophies than what Roger Federar holds.

So although the argument is based on some reasons that are comprehensible, I consider it to be actually untrue.