If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Goals give us direction. A larger task is often broken up into shorter ones, each having specific goals, so that we are not lost midway. Goals must be well defined, realistic and time-bound – otherwise it doesn’t make any sense. Once a goal is established, there may be multiple ways to achieve it. The achievers evaluate each option mostly based on criteria such as arduousness of the journey, cost and effort involved. But there are other criteria that must also be taken into consideration when deciding the road ahead.

Before deciding a path to reach the target, we need to evaluate if it abides the law the land. There may be much faster way to establish a business and earn success by bribing some government official, but should one do it? If caught, the entire path will lead us behind the bars.

Then there are moral or ethical angle. Taking the same example of establishing or running a business, one should not engage into unethical activities just to sideline a prominent competitor, or to deprive the employees from what they deserve, say money or number of hours of rest.

And finally, there may be ways that are too dangerous. One may be brave enough to take risk, but all risks are not to be taken.

Looking at these angle, it’s not agreeable to think that any means can be taken to achieve a goal, however worthy it is.