38. If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Goals give us direction. A larger task, with enormous challenges intermingled with meandering complexities, is often broken up into shorter ones, each having specific goals, so that we are not lost midway. Goals must be well defined, realistic and time-bound – otherwise it does not make sense to pursue them. Once a goal is meticulously established, there may be multiple ways to achieve it. All these ways are different when looked from different perspectives. Some may be difficult to traverse but offer better chances to achieve, while there may be others that are easier to attempt but the chance of chance of completion of the journey is marred by uncertainties. The achievers evaluate each option mostly based on criteria such as arduousness of the journey, cost and effort involved. Then there are few other criteria that are not too obvious but must also be taken into consideration when deciding the road ahead.

Before deciding a path to reach the target, we need to evaluate if it abides the law of the land. There may be much faster way to establish a business and earn success by bribing some government official, but should one do it? If caught, the entire path will lead us behind the bars.

Then there are moral or ethical angle. Taking the same example of establishing or running a business, one should not engage into unethical activities just to sideline a prominent competitor, or to deprive the employees from what they deserve, say money or number of hours of rest. While these are easier ways to improve topline or bottom line, those benefits are only ephemeral and this cannot be a consistent way towards a sustained success.

And finally, there may be ways that are too dangerous. One may be brave enough to take risk, but all risks are not to be taken.

Looking at these angle, it’s not agreeable to think that any means can be taken to achieve a goal, however worthy it is.