The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Great people, of all times, have managed to occupy very special places in our minds, in our books and in our culture. Their deeds have always had a very long-term impact in our lives. Short terms heroes are easily forgotten. So, when we judge somebody’s contribution to the world, one of the most important aspect to be borne in mind is how long people are accepting them as “great”.

Going by this logic, the role of posterity is very important. While contemporary people may get carried away seeing the immediate results of the achievements, the next generations will be able to evaluate from a more unbiased perspective. Who knows? There may be some adverse effect of the inventions of a great scientist, which will become evident only after half a century. To test the perpetual nature of the contribution, future generations are far better placed.

Scientists are doing commendable job in genetic technology, nuclear physics or astronomy. Today, all these seem to be great achievements. But are we sure that these advancements in science will not lead us to some perilous journey such as socio economic problems, or may even be a war with people from another constellation?

Mahatma Gandhi, the great leader of Indian freedom movement against the British, was always regarded as a great personality, so much so that his birthday is celebrated as one of the three national holidays in India. Even then, today’s politicians and historians have started finding him at fault, particularly due to his role during the partition of India that took away lives of millions.

Therefore, greatness will definitely be best measured by people who leave after us. But that doesn’t undermine the role of the contemporary people. They are the people who identify the great person and, sometimes, kindle the fire in him. Moreover, the value understanding of his work can be best understood from the current context which may not be available with the next generations. Thus, a great man and his contribution to society, may get completely lost unless someone from his time notices it, realizes it’s value, and publicizes it. Then only a great man is born which the newer generations can boast about.