All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

We all know parents should spend a considerable amount of time, regularly, with their child. They are the best teachers. It has been observed that, children who do not get their parents’ attention at an early age are prone to picking up, during their adolescence, habits that are not approved by society. But in today’s world, everyone is very busy with their own business or job. Late office hours and frequent travels have made it difficult for the families to meet at the dining table.

The topic at context doesn’t talk about parents’ involvement at home, but very specifically their spending time at the child’s school. We go to our kid’s schools only when summoned for a parent-teacher meeting, probably twice or thrice in a year. However, visiting the school should be more frequent for several reasons.

Childhood is the first stage of social development. A parent must always keep an eye on how the child is shaping up and whether he or she needs some support or a change in course. Schools take up a big chunk of the childhood days. If we frequently visit the school, talk to the teachers about the kid’s progress, weakness etc, we can make ourselves aware of any potential issues that need to be taken care. We can take actions at an early stage, instead of waiting till end of year, before something goes seriously wrong.

Going to the school with your son or daughter makes them feel homely. Often there will be bullies about whom your kid may be afraid of, or a frightening history teacher. Presence of father or mother can bolster confidence in the child’s mind.

Occasional school visits also will open before you the doors to other guardians. The guardians get a chance to meet each other, discus issues they are facing, and can take joint steps to address them. It may be about approving an educational tour arranged by the school, or handling any grievance about the school authority or about a particular teacher.

Looking at the parent’s side too, it is always very pleasant to be in company of a large number of small children, full with fresh energy, shouting discordantly or running meaninglessly. This puts fresh oxygen inside us, and enhances our quality of life. So it is always advisable to spend more time with your kid and in his or her school.