In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the contemporary society, there is a tumultuous influx of media information such that denomination of a celebrity has become common. The media and even the government deliberately derogates the reputations of the famous to earn financial success, or hide their wrongdoing. Nevertheless, not all celebrities suffer from this phenomenon: there are few people that actually benefit from this media coverage.

First of all, the mass media corporations produce profit by catching significant attention from the society. To gather interest, they disclose scandals of prominent celebrities, sportsman, government officials because these types of information are the most piquant. Hence, the reputation of the famous are constantly in danger due to these companies' ceaseless effort to pry open their bad actions. For instance, recently in Korea Sung-Lee a famous singer was indicted for rape and illegal drug usage. The news spread quickly by the internet, Kakao-talk (an online communication system) and television, and people were both shocked and interested. The media was able to make great profit out of this single issue because people got really interested in the fact that a seemingly good man was actually a bad guy, and they were able to produce lots of contents with this issue.

Next, taking celebrities down are sometimes used by the government to distract people from focusing on government pitfalls. For instance, President Lee Myung Pak disclosed the news that Kang Ho Dong, the most prominent MC in Korea, has violated tax laws to shadow his own tax deviations. Kang was forced to take a rest and stop all his activities while President Lee was able to successfully hide his illegal profit. Consequently, celebrities are in a position of constant threat rather than in a position of admiration.

Nevertheless, there are some prominent people that take advantage of this media obsession. For instance, Sadio Mane, a professional football player revealed that he donates much of his weakly wage to support the construction of schools and provide food supply to his penurious country. These good actions of this player spread fast on the internet and everybody around the world appreciates and admires him, not just because of his great performances on the pitch, but because he seems to have a warm heart. Therefore, not all well-known people suffer from the attack of mass media: some uses it to build a good reputation.

In conclusion, the false moves of the famous may be a great prey for the media and the government officials, and thus maintaining a good reputation has become ever more difficult. However, some judiciously use it to their advantage and promoting their repute.