The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage asserts that the regulating the maximum number of moped rentals will decrease the total number of accidents inside the Balmer Island. However, the passage makes a few assumptions that may need to be further validated. The assumptions needing further reasoning are that population increase leads to more rentals inside the island, and that less rentals lead to less accidents inside the island, and finally that the Torseau Island's case and Balmer Island's case are parallel.

First of all, the passage makes a sloppy assumption that increased population inside the island will lead to an increased number of people wanting to rent vehicles. However, this may not be totally true if Balmer Island is not large and can be traveled by walking so that people really don't feel the need to rent transportation methods. Therefore, to validify this argument, the passage should provide supplementary information that population increase inside the island will lead to an increase in rental rates.

Next, the passage mentions that the decrease of rental rates will lead to a decrease in accident rates. On the other hand, this cannot be justified because, even though rental rates decrease there might be a possibility that the total number of cars do actually increase because the people coming to the island may bring their own vehicles. This may cause the traffic to become more complicated and may lead to more accidents. In addition, there is also a possibility that drivers inside the Blamer island are cautious and tend to conform really well to the traffic rules, and even though rental rates increase, these drivers do not cause any problems with pedestrians.

Last but not least, there is insufficient evidence that the traffic and road conditions of Balmer Island and Torseau Island are the same. In the case of the Torseau Island, the road may be narrow and complicated so that there is a high possibility that moped and pedestrians could collide. So, decreased moped will result in lower accident rates. In contrast, in the Balmer island the road may be well planned and pedestrian roads may be separated from vehicle roads. Then, even though the number of moped and bicycles increase, it will have insignificant effect on accident rate between vehicles and pedestrians. Nevertheless, if Balmer Island and Torseau Island has similar road structures, then limiting motorcycle rent may help decrease the accident rate in Balmer Island too.

In conclusion, the passage has some detrimental logical flaws such as population increase will lead to an increase in rental increase, less bicycles and motorcycles lead to a lower accident rate, and finally that the Torseau Island and Balmer Island can be considered as equals.