The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

The letter presented to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette states problem of the accidents between pedestrians and moped vehicles. It recommends that if number of moped allowed to use are restricted then it would solve the problem of accidents. It also mentions that neighboring island Torseau also implemented the same policy on the island and last year and they noticed decline in accidents by 50 percent. Therefore the letter states that it would be the same case with the Balmer island without substantiating assumptions behind making decision as well as lack of evidence that supports argument of the letter.

Firstly, no data of the current population of the Balmer island and also six rental companies of mopeds and bicycles are enough for how many people to satisfy the need are not provided. Without number of bicycles and moped held by each rental company and the number of population it can not be determined that restriction on the rental companies will be proven useful or not. If population of island is very less compared to rental mopeds and bicycles rental companies have even after imposing restriction it will not make much difference in the number of cases of accidents.

Assuming that bicycles and mopeds are restricted to 50 per day to 30 per day will allow less population access to bicycles and mopeds, it doesn't prove that it will reduce accidents because it depends on the rider and the pedestrian. Increase in pedestrians forced by less accessibility of bicycles and moped will increase the probability of accidents as there are more pedestrians on the roads to bulge into. It will make situations worse if people start using heavy vehicles for transportation needs, of which no consideration is taken into account by the argument of the letter.

Letter states that Torseau island implementing policy restricting availability of smaller vehicles seen decline in accidents by 50 percent, to which no statistical data from which the validity can be verified. May be there were too many mopeds and bicycles were available before and therefore even restricting it didn't made any difference. The decline was because of implementation of rigorous testing of rider to be eligible to ride which would certainly undermine the letter's recommendation. If the laws don't restrict anyone from riding the vehicles who are ineligible to ride, there wouldn't be any significant change in accidents.

Conclusively, author of the letter doesn't provide actual statistical data to verify that the suggestion will work on the Balmer island or not. It also make assumptions that don't hold in specific conditions, on which there is no control of human and fails to substantiate assumptions. Not taking into the account of some serious factors and comparing it with other island's result without missing crucial information it is unpersuasive.