Students should always question what they are taught instead of just accepting it passively.

Students are always told to question when they are unable to comprehend the problem completely, asking question will help better understanding it or even solve the problem completely from the hint gained by questioning. It has been crucial part of academics to raise questions and find answers for that, leading to significant advancements and major breakthroughs in many fields. I completely agree with the argument of the author that student should always question what they are taught and not just accepting because it must have been right. For deeper understanding it is required to know mechanisms behind the concept also helping as feedback for teachers.

In the industries, deeper understanding of related concepts and mechanisms help to further optimize and mould into most efficient for particular use. Having knowledge of how it works and why it works, it will be proved to be very helpful in exploring advanced versions. For example, the student of computer science, having problem of limited memory and fast execution with relatively high accuracy would demand extensive and detailed knowledge of how memory works and how its operations can be optimized with better and faster algorithms. The Apollo Mission was conducted with significantly lower memory than today's smartphone, because it was optimized with great detailed knowledge.

Similarly, raised question by students, acts as feedback for the professor or the teacher, with the help of that one can try different approach for teaching that topic which would make it easy for student to understand. If students never raise any question, the teacher can not know when or where students are confused or not getting anything. Many questions will require many facts to evaluate the integrity in different contexts as well as with different perspective which would help significantly to gain insights. The theory should be linked with real world problems to understand usability as well as viability in the implementation.

In contrary, often there is a systematic path to gain any specific knowledge and skill. One can not directly master the skill without learning basic components and understanding how they can be used in combination with other elements to make certain thing. Before designing product for the customer, it is necessity that need should exist among the customers. Directly learning product design without understanding problem faced by the customers and features they want would eventually failed because the basic and most important components are missing. Similarly sometimes too much questioning attitude without some patience will degenerate into loss of interest.

Conclusively, questioning methods of teaching and what is being taught would be greatly beneficial to both students and professors serving as valuable feedback from student to the professor, would result into new approach and perspective to view the problem and therefore providing deeper insights and detailed knowledge, significantly helpful for the students. Sometimes it is also needed to trust specific path to learn new skill or understanding step by step having patience and persistence.