Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Education is the basic tool to give knowledge and information. It shapes our thinking, attitude and perception of the world we are living in. The future of any person is defined by environment in which he grows up and what he learns in that environment. So, it is mandatory for any students to be cognizant about what he is being taught, rather than passively devouring the teachings.

In the modern era, education has been the most effective tool to shape the opinion of people. Using text books, the most used tool in education, many politicians and leaders are brainwashing minds of children; passively taking teachings in school they wouldn’t even know if they are being brainwashed. From their early childhood, students are fed with knowledge that their leaders want them to have, and that finally makes them obsequious to their respective leaders. North Korea, for instance, has its text books filled with the lessons fawning over their respective leaders. So, children are benighted about the cruelty of their dictator, and they become devoted to their leader. Had the students raised the question about the lessons they were behind taught in their school, they would have been aware about the cruelty that their society was facing.

In this regard, questioning of content and method of teachings is helpful for students to craft a beautiful future for themselves and sometimes even for their society. Moreover, being critical about the learning also helps in building up creativity in students as such action would polish their thinking and reasoning capabilities. Taking things passively doesn’t require any effort, and it would make our mind vapid.

The proponents of the above argument might argue that raising questions (denying passivity) would create unnecessary debate in class, and that would hinder teaching-learning process. But, doesn’t the debate help in bringing up different novel ideas on the issue being learned? Doesn’t it help in unfolding flaws in certain teaching that has been obscuring our mind? It obviously does. So, there is only one way that can truly enhance capacity of our mind and also point out flaws in education system: questioning the teachings.