College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

From the dawn of human civilization to this twenty-first century the definition and purpose of education has been changing, reshaping itself according to context and period. Earlier, education was primarily a tool to provoke thought, to impart knowledge, solve difficult mysteries of nature and convey the principles of religious belief. However, after the civilization went through industrial revolution and came to this era of technology the primary purpose of education has been to produce manpower needed to feed the industries. In this context, choosing subjects according to their scope in job market might seem plausible. Nonetheless, I think that education should be as it was in earlier times- a tool that provokes thought, that truly inspires you and not treat you like a product being produced by a machine.

In the present times, the world is seeing the largest number of drop-outs than any other time. The major reason behind this is that students jump into a subject because it bears a great potential in the job market and can earn them more in the future. Eventually, however, students find out that the subjects don’t interest them and only the economic incentive provided by the subject cannot hold them for the studies. Moreover, there is so huge competition on those popular subjects that students cannot compete and eventually abandon the education itself.

Doctor, for instance, is a major profession in Nepal. The subject requires a great effort and much more dedication. You cannot truly study the subject if you are not actually interested in it. Moreover, thousands of the most brilliant students get enrolled in the subject creating a huge competition in the job market after graduation. Consequently, huge number of students who enrolls in this course with only a good job as an incentive feels frustrated with competition and subject matter they are quite uninterested in. This has resulted in quite a number of suicide cases and even more number of drop-outs.

So education system should be such that students are encouraged to choose the subject that they feel interested in. Even if they don’t earn much at least that would reduce the amount of stress that comes with choosing subjects that you are not interested in. Many proponents of the above argument might question what is the purpose of education if it cannot provide you with economic security? However, students who choose subject of their interest can also have an economically secured future if they work hard in the subject area of their interest. There are several examples like Mark Zuckerberg and Steve Jobs who dropped out of the college only to study and work in the subject of their interest ultimately becoming one of the richest persons of the world.

Finally, the subject matter that one chooses should be interesting, thought-provoking rather than a banal discourse that manufactures you as a product for job market and it is almost sure that such choice of subject matter always has an economic benefit attached to it.