"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

he recommendation mentioned above states that the manned space flight is dangerous and costly; therefore the investment should be done in unmanned space flight, pointing out the successes of recent unmanned space probes and satellites, but the evidence provided are not enough to please the authority, for lack of appropriate data and facts. The above argument is based on myriad of fallacies, which renders the conclusion baseless.

First and foremost, the author has mentioned about the successes of unmanned space probes and satellites, but he failed to provide enough data so that the fact can easily be accepted. It would be great if he had attested some data regarding the success rate of unmanned and manned space flight and the like. Furthermore, data regarding the total number of deaths of the astronauts would have bolster his case and convince the editor.

Secondly, he has overlooked the evidence of the decreasing rate of space accidents, with increasing success rates of the manned space flights. It might be true that the unmanned space probes and satellites are having great success rates, but it can also be true that the manned space flights have had even greater success rates and gathered greater information than the unmanned one. This may seemingly indicate that, the author is a timid astronaut who fears a lot about going to space for a flight, and support unmanned space flight rather than to have some adventure.

Likewise, the argument is based on only few things, like cost and risk. It has overlooked several other factors which would prop-up the case even strongly like lower success rate of manned space flight, advances in the technology, and so on. The argument also seems incomplete in the sense that, the author could have hidden the several unsuccess rates of the unmanned space probes, focusing only on the cost and risk. The case would have even more supported if he had provided the evidence of adoption of unmanned space flights on other reaserch stations of other countries, and the achievements that had procured.

In sum, it can be stated that the argument is based on myriad of fallacies, which lack convincing power to the one reading the particular piece of paper. If provided with data and facts, encompassed with successful instances of unmanned space flights, the argument would otherwise seemed plausible, and more convincing.