All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The author posits that often, companies rely on outside consultants and it increases cost for company while the problem could have been solved by listening to their own employees in the first place. However, it is true that employees are responsible for designing and understanding better than any other person but sometimes it doesn't always have to do with product and therefore employees can help so much and outside consultant is required to assess the situation and identify the correct problem and suggesting new methods which could be very beneficial. There are also some factors like characteristics of the problem dictates usefulness of the consultancy.

More often than not, companies are facing problems like cultural adaptation problems with employees, conflicts between employees at different level of hierarchy because of certain impedance which are subtle and one may not have discern or direct authority to solve it. In these case, outside consultant, expert in identifying these type of problems can notice easily and suggesting best solution and therefore making sure smoother operations and productivity. More often companies concerned with efficiency of their employees seek out help of expert in efficiency and effectiveness management in corporate world to help employees to obtain their unexplored potential and also provides huge benefit for company.

As there are problems in corporate world, companies managed by experienced and knowledgable CEOs who may be highly competent with their technical skills but sometimes their behaviour and lack of some other soft skills affect growth of the company adversely. For that matter, decision of hiring of outside consultant of the company's board would be proved most crucial. Outsider, without any bias towards company's other employees, with collaborating with top management and other necessary people would figure out where and what the exact problem is and how to tackle it gracefully without adversely affecting anyone's feelings.

In the contrary, in some cases hiring external consultant would just incur more cost for the company when it is problem related to product. For example chronic crashing in the software product would be solved by effective communication between programmers of different departments and of different responsibilities, working together it could be solved easily and in lesser time than hiring other programmers who are completely unaware of the code base and require significant time to understand first and then analyze for possible bugs causing crash.

Consultancy from outside actor can provide significant insight on possible impediments and therefore helping to overcome those effectively without wasting resources of the company. However,it might be subjective to the type of the problem and therefore one needs to identify the characteristics of problem and then make decisions based on that.