It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

these days, media coverage has become more intensive than the past. because of this, many experts argue that it is not possible today for a society to deem any living man and woman as a hero. I agree with this view because intensive media coverage plays a role in making people know about many issues.

Admittedly, it was possible for society to view an individual as a hero in the past. this is because average citizens were not accessible to the media due to a lack of the influence of media coverage. Thus, people used to believe and follow a few people who had new theories or new thinking. For example, only a few people made an objection of the slavery when slavery was prevalent in american society. In particular, Abraham Lincoln pronounced that Confederate states’ slavery should be abolished by Emancipation Proclamation, and many people agreed with his opinion and followed his idea. Moreover, he has been considered as an eminent president in american history so far. Also, many leaders are being described as heroes in the present days. therefore, in the past when there was no powerful influence of the media, many leaders could be viewed as role-models.

On the other hand, having heroes nowadays is not possible because the media closely reports newly-discovered issues about leaders and celebrities. For example, many people considered Tiger Woods as a hero in golf area because he won many international golf competitions and showed people noticeable outcomes in many game. however, when the media reported coverage about his scandal regarding dating several women, he lost all great reputation that he has built up so far. As a result, compared to the past, the media these days scrutinizes in more detail about leaders and even celebrities. therefore, many people do not consider these leaders and celebrities when they find some flawed private life by the intensive media coverage.

In conclusion, in the past when the media coverage was not powerful, it was easy for some leaders to be deemed as a hero. however, media coverage has been more intensive about leaders. therefore, when people figure out the leader’s faults by the intensive media coverage, they no longer consider the leaders as role-model.