The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the owner of movie Galore argues that they should new policies which were adopted to downtown marston to improve profits. although the argument may seem sound at first, the lack of specific evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

Firstly, the owner needs to provide solid evidence on the credibility of the decrease in operating expenses and the increase in prices at movies Galore’s ten movie rental stores. The owner adamantly believes that they must reduce operating expenses instead of raising prices to solve the problem of declining profits. however, it is possible that although they increase their prices, the prices may be marginal because their initial prices are minute. Besides, due to good economic condition, they may not lose customers although they raise their prices. As a result, even if they are famous for their low prices, they might not lose customers by raising prices. therefore, raising prices may be a good option to grow profits.

Next, the owner needs to supplement the argument with more concrete evidence on the universality of marston’s case to prove that their company should reduce their operating hours. he states that they implemented new policies last month in downtown marston, decreasing operating hours and reducing its overall inventory. Also, they have received very few customer complaints about them. however, it has been a month since it started to be implemented, so many people may not know the changes to new policies. therefore, it should be monitored for the long run. In addition, the majority of people would go home after getting off from work in the evening because the store is located in downtown, and people in the downtown may be largely the young or middle-aged. Thus, the company did not have any customer complaints not because of the effectiveness of new policies but because of this geographic aspect of downtown marston. therefore, they should not consider reducing operating hours in other stores.

Lastly, more specific evidence is needed on the soundness of the conclusion that they should adopt these new policies in all stores for improving profits as their best options. although the new policies were effective in marston, it would be far-fetched to state that adopting these new policies is the “best” option to improve profits. There are better ways, and these policies can be recommended to most movie-rental stores, not all stores.

In brief, the argument of the owner is not sound. To bolster the argument, he should provide the aforementioned evidence.