Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Many experts believe that the government should support the arts to make the arts flourish and ensure all people to enjoy. however, others are against this view because government funding can harm the integrity of the arts. I believe that the government should not fund the arts because the arts can be used according to the government’s purpose such as propaganda.

Admittedly, government funding in the arts can have advantageous effects on the arts and society in some cases. For example, the British government made arts council England and ensured that this institution supports art education to encourage people to enjoy the arts, especially opera. arts council England made “opera Squad” and helped connecting pupils and staff to professionals working in the industry by supporting. In addition, they supported teachers to explore opera as a stimulus for learning across the curriculum. As a result, students can improve their curiosity about the arts and teachers can supply high-quality educational material for students by patronizing the arts. Besides, it could encourage their parents to get interested in opera. therefore, the funding from government can improve awareness and interest in the arts.

However, despite its benefits, there is a strong reason to believe that government should suspend funding for the arts because it has a detrimental impact on the arts because the arts can be used as powerful propaganda tools for communism. For example, the former Soviet Union government provided funding to Russia arts in the past and they asked the artists to produce some art forms to advertise the government's spirit. that is why for the artists in Russia at the time there was no choice to draw paintings that praise their governments and they were not free to do their own art to get financial support from the government. therefore, nations prevent government funding for the arts.

Since government funding has an adverse effect on the arts, society’s help would reap more benefits. For example, during the renaissance period, the Medici family patronized many artists like Da Vinci, when these artists were young and not famous. If Medici family had not supported the artists, the renaissance period would have not been able to thrive. therefore, the artists can ask individual sponsors for help.

In conclusion, although it is important for government to patronize the arts and artists, funding from government to the arts may threaten the pure spirit of the arts.