The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter, the author argues that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing will not face serious economic hardship. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of solid evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

first, the author should supplement the argument with more concrete evidence on the innate conditions in 1999 and the present. The author states that people who are downsized would not go through economic hardship because far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated since 1999 by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy. however, the inherent situations in 1999 and the present may be different. For example, because of the adverse economy at the present, many jobs may not have been created recently. therefore, workers who have lost jobs can face serious economic hardship.

Next, more solid evidence is needed on the validity of created jobs to prove that the new jobs fit competent workers. it is plausible that the new positions for candidates are for entry-level and novices. Thus, the majority of competent works might have difficulty finding jobs that suit them. therefore, the competent workers who were downsized will suffer financial problems.

Lastly, the author needs to provide specific evidence on the quality of new jobs. The author reports that two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above average wages, however, if the total number of newly created jobs is minute, two-thirds of these also may not be substantial. In addition, the "tendency" cannot be generalized as the real action. it is possible that two-thirds companies may not pay above average wages. therefore, even if the competent workers get new jobs, they may be in financial trouble.

In brief, the argument is not sound. To bolster the argument, the author should provide the aforementioned evidence.