The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this letter, the author states that workers who have lost jobs because of the corporate downsizing in Elthyria may not face serious economic hardship. he supports this claim by mentioning the recent report of increased amount of new job creation and some part of new jobs tend to have a good income. this argument is firstly persuasive, but lack of evidence leads me question of its validity in many respects.

First, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the time shift in report. The recent report on the Elthyrian economy states that far more jobs created since 1999. it could be possible that the new job created more since 1999, but it is not likely to be increased because of adverse economic condition of the present. Also, the increasement of reporting means can make to report of newly created job available. Before, lack of technology and platform may lack the record of the new jobs.

Second, the author should make the supplement on evidence of the quality of newly created job. newly created job may not fit to the competent workers. it could be a part-time job which requires simple labor rather than competent workforce. In this case, competent workers couldn't satisfy with the new job and it will affect to the situation badly.

Third, the author give the concrete evidence on that the actual size of the newly created job and its credibility of quality. he asserts that two-third of new jobs tend to pay above-average wages. The original size of the newly created job could be small, so two-thirds of new jobs could be a negligible amount. Even though we accept this, the rest of people who didn't find a new job are still remained. In addition, the word 'tend' didn't assure if it actually payed above average. Tendency could be changed in various situations and circumstances.

In summary, the author's letter is unconvincing. To strengthen this argument, he should make concrete evidences on the credibility of reports, and quality and exact size of newly created job in Elthyria.